Health and Social Care

Head of Department Ms A Elliott 
Teachers Ms N Charlton 

Qualification Name

  • BTEC Level 3 National Health and social care

Examination Board

  • Pearson Edexcel


What is BTEC Nationals in Health and Social Care?

BTEC Nationals are qualifications that are designed to provide specialist work-related qualifications. They give learners the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to prepare them for employment. On successful completion of a BTEC National qualification, learners can progress into or within employment and/or continue their study in the same vocational area. All students will enrol onto either the National Diploma or Extended programme which is equivalent to two and three ‘A’ levels respectively. The qualification is recognised throughout Britain and in EU countries. 


What is the course structure? 

The course is made up of: 8 Mandatory units and 4 Optional units for the Diploma and 9 optional units for the Extended. The Mandatory units give learners an introduction and understanding of Health and Social care. The qualification offers an engaging programme for those students who are clear about the area of employment that they wish to enter. Six units are covered in year 12 for Diploma and nine units for the Extended. The final units are covered in year 13. 

What are the entry requirements? 

Students to be considered for entry to the course should have at least the following: A standard of literacy and numeracy supported by a general education equivalent of 4 GCSEs passes (at grades AC) including Maths and English.


What units will I study? 

Year 12 – BTEC National Diploma & Extended Mandatory Units – all eight units must be completed


1 Developing effective communication in health and social care 

2 Equality, diversity and rights in health and social care

3 Health safety and security in health and social care

4 Development through the life stages 

5 Fundamentals of anatomy and physiology for health & social

6 Personal and professional development in health & social 

7 Sociological perspectives for health and social care 

8 Psychological perspectives for health and social care

Year 13 – BTEC National Diploma & Extended Optional units 

10 Caring for Children and Young people 

11 Safeguarding adults and promoting Independence 

14 Physiological disorders 

20 Promoting Health Education 

22 Research Methodology 

23 Complimentary therapies 

24 Introduction to counselling 

44 Vocational experience 

47 Social policy

Assessment Make up

100% coursework (assessed and moderated internally & externally sampled through Edexcel External

  • To PASS (equivalent to grade C) every pass criterion need to be achieved.
  • To gain a MERIT (equivalent to grade B), all the pass and merit criteria need to be achieved. 
  • To gain a DISTINCTION or DISTINCTION* (equivalent to grade A, A*), all the pass, merit and distinction criteria need to be achieved

Deadline for Coursework

Class teachers set individual assignment deadlines. 

Examination Dates

This course is 100% coursework there is no exam. Student final grades to be supplied by Edexcel in August result.

Core Reading Material

BTEC level 3 Health and social care (Book 1&2), published by Stretch .B, Whitehouse. M.