Maths

Mathematics AS Level

Qualification Name

Pearson Edexcel Level 3 GCE

Examination Board

Edexcel 

Head of Department

Ms G Puri

Teachers

Mr Islam

Assistant Principal / Head of Department 

j.islam@haaf.org.uk

 Mr Ogundola

Second–in-Charge

p.ogundola@haaf.org.uk 

 Mr Li

Mathematics Teacher

sj-li@haaf.org.uk

 Ms Asiedu

Mathematics Teacher

s.asiedu@haaf.org.uk 

Mrs Aduwa

Mathematics Teacher

e.aduwa@haaf.org.uk

Mrs Nathan

Mathematics Teacher 

p.nathan@haaf.org.uk

Mrs Hunt

Mathematics Teacher 

l.hunt@haaf.org.uk

 Mr Princewell

Mathematics Teacher 

t.princewell@haaf.org.uk 

 Mr Igue

Mathematics Teacher 

e. Igue@haaf.org.uk 

At AS Level, we provide two pure and one applied Maths Module.

Curriculum for Year 12 A2 Maths

National Classification Code**  Cash-in Code Award Compulsory CORE Units Applied Unit
2210 8371 GCE AS Mathematics C1, C2 S1

Assessment Make Up

There are three Units at AS level. 

  • Unit C1 Core Mathematics 1 
  • Unit C2 Core Mathematics 2 
  • Unit S1 Statistics 1 
  • All examination papers last 1 hour 30 minutes. 
  • All examination papers have 75 marks. 
  • C1 is a non-calculator paper: for all other unit examinations, calculators can be used.

Unit Structure

 

Unit Number  Unit Title Unit Code Level Method of Assessment Availability AS weighting GCE Weighting
C1 Core Mathematics 1 6663  AS 1 written Paper in June 2015   33.3% of AS   16.67% of Advanced GCE 
C2 Core Mathematics 2  6664 AS  1 written Paper in June 2015   33.3% of AS   16.67% of Advanced GCE 
S1 Statistics 1   6683  AS  1 written Paper in June 2015   33.3% of AS   16.67% of Advanced GCE 

 

 

Specification Contents for C1 and C2

 

Term Content
AUTUMN  C1 Course 
Co-ordinate Geometry
Laws of indices
Differentiation 1
Integration 1 Sequences and Series 1
Functions & Curve Sketching

Past C1 Exam practice papers
MOCK Core 1 Examination ( December) 
SPRING   C2 Course 
Factor & Remainder Theorems
Trigonometry
Logarithms
Binomial Theorem
The Circle

MOCK Core 2 Examination
SUMMER  Differentiation & Integration 2
Series 2 (Geometric Progressions)

Past C2 Exam practice papers  

 

 

Specification Contents for S1

 

Term  Content
AUTUMN Mathematical models in probability and statistics
Representation and summary of data
Probability
SPRING Correlation and regression
Discrete random variables
The Normal Distribution  
SUMMER  Past papers Practice
Statistics 1 GCE Examination (May-June) 
 

 

Mathematics A2 Level

Qualification Name

Pearson Edexcel Level 3 GCE

Examination Board

Edexcel 

Head of Department

Ms G Puri

Teachers

Mr Islam

Assistant Principal / Head of Departmentj.islam@haaf.org.uk
Mr OgundolaSecond–in-Chargep.ogundola@haaf.org.uk
Mr LiMathematics Teachersj-li@haaf.org.uk
Ms AsieduMathematics Teachers.asiedu@haaf.org.uk

Mrs Aduwa

Mathematics Teachere.aduwa@haaf.org.uk

Mrs Nathan

Mathematics Teacherp.nathan@haaf.org.uk

Mrs Hunt

Mathematics Teacherl.hunt@haaf.org.uk
Mr PrincewellMathematics Teachert.princewell@haaf.org.uk
Mr IgueMathematics Teachere. Igue@haaf.org.uk

At A2 Level, we provide two pure and one applied Maths Module. You need to have completed 2 pure modules and one applied module at AS level. To get A2 qualification in Maths, you need to do 4 Core units and 2 applied units.

Curriculum for Year 13 A2 Maths

 

National classification code** Cash-in code** Award  Compulsory CORE Units Applied Units  
2210 9371 GCE Mathematics C1, C2, C3, C4 C1, C2,C3,C4  S1,S2

 

Assessment Make Up

There are three Units at AS level. 

  • Unit C3 Core Mathematics 3 
  • Unit C4 Core Mathematics 4 
  • Unit S2 Statistics 2  All examination papers last 1 hour 30 minutes.  All examination papers have 75 marks.  Calculator is allowed in all unit examinations.

Unit Structure

 

Unit number   Unit titleUnit code Level Method of assessment Availability AS weightingGCE weighting  
C3 Core Mathematics 3  6665 A2 1 written Paper in June 2015  33.3% of AS  16.67% of Advanced GCE
C4 Core Mathematics 4  6666 A2 1 written Paper in June 2015  33.3% of AS  16.67% of Advanced GCE
S2 Statistics 2   6684 A2 1 written Paper in June 2015  33.3% of AS  16.67% of Advanced GCE

Specification Contents for C3

TermContent
AutumnAlgebra & Functions
Exponentials & Natural Logarithms
Trigonometry
Differentiation (Parts 1 & 2)
Mock Exam
Spring (First half)  Differentiation (Parts 3 - 5)
Numerical Methods
Proof
Past Papers & Revision
Full MOCK of C3

Specification Contents for C4

Term Content
SPRING TERM (2nd Half) More Algebra
Geometric Series
Curve sketching
Further differentiation
Full MOCK of C4 
SUMMER TERM
Integration 
More Integration 
Differential equations
Vector Geometry
Revision & Past Papers

Specification Contents for S2

Term Content
AUTUMN  The Binomial Distribution
Poisson Distributions
Continuous Random Variables  
SPRING Continuous Distributions
Sampling Methods & Hypothesis Tests (part 1)
Full MOCK of S2 
SUMMER   Sampling Methods and Hypothesis Tests (Part 2)
Revision & Past papers - examination taken in early June