PE

"Providing pupils' with a springboard in the world of sport and leisure activities"

Director of PE & School Sport

Mr Portsmouth: d.portsmouth@haaf.org.uk 

Teachers

Postion Teacher e-mail
Key Stage 4 Leader (2 i/c)   Mr Gibbons 

r.gibbons@haaf.org.uk  

Key Stage 3 Leader  Miss Keen s.keen@haaf.org.uk 

School Games Organiser 

Ms Descombes   t.descombes@haaf.org.uk 
 PE Teacher Mr Clarke  w.clarke@haaf.org.uk 
 PE Teacher Mr Thomson    i.thomson@haaf.org.uk 

PE Teacher 

Miss Douglas  k.douglas@haaf.org.uk 

PE Teacher

Ms Jennings  d.jennings@haaf.org.uk
PE Teacher   Miss Roots  d.roots@haaf.org.uk 

PE Teacher

Miss McCurdy   m.mccurdy@haaf.org.uk
Head of Football Academy   Mr Young b.young@haaf.org.uk

Qualification Name

Examination Board

Head of Department

Teachers

 

Assessment Make -Up

 

Deadline for Coursework

 

Examination Dates

 

Qualification

A-level Physical Education Full Course

Exam Board

AQA

Assessment

AS Level

Unit 1 – PHED1 Opportunities for and the effects of leading a healthy and active lifestyle:

Applied Exercise Physiology

This section focuses on how understanding the body and its systems can help lead to a healthy and active lifestyle and is limited to the following topics.

Skill Acquisition

This section focuses on how skill is acquired and the impact of psychological factors on their performance. 

Opportunities for Participation

Section 1 introduces some of the concepts, categorisations and benefits of physical activity to both the individual and society. Section 2 focuses on the current provision for active leisure. Section 3 considers the role of schools and national governing bodies in creating opportunities for increasing participation. Section 4 considers the potential barriers to participation and possible solutions for various target groups. 

  • 60% of AS, 30% of A Level 
  • 2 hour written examination 
  • 84 marks 
  • Two sections: Section A – six structured questions; Section B – application of theoretical knowledge to a practical situation.

Available in June only 

Unit 2 – PHED2 -Analysis and evaluation of physical activity as a performer and/or in an adopted role/s.

  • 40% of AS, 20% of A Level 
  • Internal assessment with external moderation 100 marks 

Candidates perform, analyse and evaluate the execution of core skills/techniques in isolation and in structured practice as either a player/performer and in an adopted role or two adopted roles. 

Available in June only

A2 Level Unit 3 – PHED3 -Optimising performance and evaluating contemporary issues within sport 

  • 30% of A Level 
  • 2 hour written examination 
  • 84 marks 

Three sections: 

Section A – how exercise physiology can optimise performance 

Section B – how application of psychological knowledge can optimise performance 

Section C – contemporary influences in sport and their impact on the performer 

Unit 4 – PHED4 Optimising practical performance in a competitive situation 

  • 20% of A Level
  • Internal assessment with external moderation 
  • 120 marks 

Candidates perform, analyse and evaluate their own performance, identify areas of performance that they could improve, and suggest causes and appropriate corrective measures. 

Available in June only

Deadlines for Assessment
  • End of Unit Assessments: Termly 
  • Practical Assessments: Christmas & Easter
Examination Date
  • Practical Assessment: March/April (Year 1 & Year 2) 
  • Written Examination: May (Year 1 & Year 2)